Stuck in a Moment

Six days away from graduation and what I consider the official deadline of this blog. In six days, I will have no right to call myself a college Copt anymore. So I’m trying to cram in all the best stuff, all the good stuff–heck, all the mediocre stuff while I’ve still got the honor of the title.

Six days away from graduation and feeling stuck in a moment, but this song never fails to bring a smile to my face.

Bono with his (let’s face it, kind of silly) glasses, and The Edge with his ridiculously high voice and incredible guitar talent. And of course my favorite part of any song–lovely, poignant lyrics. From the defiant opening of “I am not afraid of anything in this world/There’s nothing you can throw at me that I haven’t already heard” to his anything-but-gentle final line “This too shall pass,” each word is meaningful, carefully chosen, poetic. Even when he gives advice, it doesn’t feel didactic… it feels raw and real.

I couldn’t possibly write down all my favorite lines without just copying the whole song. Just perfection.

Enjoy the clip! It’s one of my favorite renditions of one of my favorite songs.

Leave a Reply

